Making life Matter: The Thoughts Challenge

FB_IMG_1490683717547

Photography by Melinda Maidment

 

The other day I was thinking, after looking at my thoughts: how else can I make my life matter? And it was as if God just pressed pause. Pause on making my thoughts matter. Pause on making it practical, and implementing it in my life.

So here is the Making Life Matter – Thoughts Challenge:

In the previous post we looked at Philippians 4:8 (NKJV):

“Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy—meditate on these things.”

This will be the focus verse in my process to detox my mind and thoughts. Let’s briefly look at the meaning of the word meditate: (This is not a post about meditation, so I will not go into detail about it.)

To meditate (on Google) means to focus one’s mind for a period of time, in silence or with the aid of chanting (praise and worship), for religious or spiritual purposes or as a method of relaxation, think deeply about (something). Let’s break it down a bit for the challenge:

  • Focus my mind
    • What will I focus my mind on?
      • “Whatever things are true, noble, just, pure, lovely, of good report, any virtue and anything praiseworthy” – Philippians 4:8
  • For a period of time
    • How long will this be?
      • Set aside specific time in my day for this, and (“But you, when you pray, go into your room, and when you have shut your door, pray to your Father who is in the secret place; and your Father who sees in secret will reward you openly.” –  Matthew 6:6)
      • Continue to practice throughout the day. (“Pray without ceasing” – 1 Thessalonians 5:17)
  • In silence
    • Why in silence?
      • This will help me block out other things that might take my attention away from hearing God’s voice. (“Be still and know that I am God.” – Psalms 46:10)
  • Or with the aid of praise and worship music
    • How can praise and worship music help?
      • Sometimes it is harder to be in complete silence, some people find it better to rather have gospel music playing in the background.

The challenge: practice kingdom thoughts in the time you set aside every day (you can also use your ‘quiet time’ for this), and choose to have kingdom thoughts about people, events, work and tasks you do every day. Push out any thoughts that aren’t Philippians 4:8 thoughts.

The second part of the challenge is: what you put in you get out.

What do I mean by this? What you see and hear will influence your thoughts. Evaluate the things you see and hear against Philippians 4:8. Is it true, noble, just, pure, lovely, of good report, virtuous and praiseworthy? If no, remove it from your day as much as you can. It is not always possible, as we often find ourselves in situations where we cannot control the inputs. What you can do in situations such as these, is to change your ‘lenses’. My father sent me a short piece that he read in an airline magazine about changing your lenses with which you view or observe situations/people/things. By just changing the lenses or filters, you can change what you let into your mind. Our human perspective versus God’s perspective. Choose God’s perspective.

The Word urges us to renew our minds – to think what and how God thinks, we start doing that by changing:

  • What we let into our minds – using a different filter/lens
  • How and what we think about – using Philippians 4:8 to guide us how to think about situations, people and all the other things that occupy our minds.

Easier said than done, but that is why God challenged me to make it practical. There is no quick or easy fix. Having a relationship with God takes time and input from my side. God did His part, now it is my choice, and I choose HIM! I want to make my life matter, and I will start doing so by making my thoughts matter and following God in this journey. So let’s make our thoughts matter in this Philippians 4:8 thoughts challenge!

One thought on “Making life Matter: The Thoughts Challenge

  1. Pingback: Making life Matter: Words – Life or Death | from Melinda's heart

Leave a Reply

