Making life matter: Treasures

img_2626

Photography by Melinda Maidment

Lately I am wondering a lot about what is really important in life? What is it that you are searching for in your life? What do you invest most of your time in? What is it in 10, 20, 30, or how many ever years that you will look back at and will make you smile? How are you measuring your life? All these questions keep circling in my mind.

 

A while ago I remembered this quote by Abraham Lincoln that I first heard when I was still in primary school:

“In the end, it’s not the years in your life that count. It’s the life in your years.”

Years are something we can measure. I was once asked to give a definition of time, and the simple answer: something a clock measures. So similarly to time, years are something calendars measure. This quote has so much more to it, and is worth giving a second thought over. How do we measure life then – the life in our years?

We often measure our quality of life in earthly things – the house you live in, the area where you stay, the motor vehicle(s) you drive, your bank balance, your job, where you go on holiday, the school your children attend, your title, your education, the value of the gifts you buy – basically how much you pay for things and what is perceived to be of high value and quality based on the world’s opinion. We slave away to attain these things and so we become slaves of money and the ‘things’ we deem to be a ‘quality’ life.

Matthew 6:19-21 (NKJV)

“Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal; but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.”

The scripture makes it clear which treasures we should and should not lay up for ourselves. Then knowing this, the last sentence in that scripture can be posed as a question: “where is your treasure, and therefore your heart?” Challenging us. God is showing us how to discern between earthly and heavenly treasures – earthly treasures can be destroyed and stolen, whereas heavenly treasures cannot. Then the challenges:

  • Introspection – am I busy gathering earthly treasures, where is my focus, my treasure, my heart?
  • Action – am I on the wrong path? Change my focus, treasure and my heart. Or am I on the path God has planned for me? And I continue on this path and lay up heavenly treasures.

If we look at life and the value of it in the Word, the answer is simple. God valued our lives so much that He sent His only Son to die for us. God sacrificed His Son’s life for our lives. But He didn’t stop there, He conquered death and rose again to save us, so that we may be set free and have eternal life. Through Jesus’ death and resurrection:

  1. the relationship between us and God was restored
  2. we were set free
  3. we (who believe in Him) may have eternal life

John 3:16 (NKJV)

“For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life.”

That is how valuable our lives are to God. Life itself is important to God. He didn’t sacrifice gold, silver, any perishable or destructible treasures or treasures that can be stolen on earth for our lives. He sacrificed His only Son’s LIFE for ours. I notice two things that God values: relationship and life. How can we ever thank God for what He has done for us? By giving Him all the glory and praise, by saying YES to a relationship with Him and to dedicate our LIVES to Him! We have nothing more valuable than that.

Heavenly treasures currently standing out for me: relationships and giving thanks.

  • Relationships – my relationship with God, my husband, my parents, my brothers and sisters, my friends, my colleagues. I also include the way in which I treat everyone including strangers. People matter to God – their hearts, their minds and their lives. And what matters to God, matters to me.
  • Giving thanks – thanking God by dedicating my heart, my mind and my life to Him. At the end of the day, all I really have to give is me – my heart, my mind and my life. Giving it ALL to God in whatever I do, is how I want to make the life in my years count.

Our lives came at the highest price imaginable. The life that you have in your years is between you and God. Ask Him what are the heavenly treasures that He wants you to focus on. The important thing God wants you to know is that your life matters to Him. You matter to God – let Him reveal to you the life He has for you.

Let me know what are the heavenly treasures that God wants you to focus on in the comment box below. ♥

One thought on “Making life matter: Treasures

  1. Pingback: Making life Matter: Thoughts | from Melinda's heart

Leave a Reply

