Endings and Beginnings 

Every beginning has an ending, but every ending is the start of a new beginning.

My Gran’s lilies in full bloom – Photography by Melinda Maidment

I thought a lot about what I should say in my first post for 2017. I asked God where He wants me to start this year, where He wants to take me this year, and what is stuck in my head is a quote by Abraham Lincoln: “In the end, it’s not the years in your life that count. It’s the life in your years.” I believe that God wants me to focus on making the life in my years count. More on this topic in my next blog post.

I thought that today will be a good day for my first blog post for this year – a short post about endings and beginnings. As a new year begins, my family grieved the ending of a life and at the same time celebrate the beginning of the new life that follows. We grieve for ourselves, and for each other for the loss we are experiencing. But more so we celebrate the life that was and the life that is.

My grandmother passed away 10 days ago at the age of 87 years. Today she would have turned 88. When our lives on earth ends we know that our lives in heaven just started. Although my grandmother has only been in heaven for the past 10 days, I know that she’s had eternal life for much longer already – she knew and loved God. So, we celebrate the life she had on earth and we celebrate that she is now in heaven.

After she passed away my father shared with me 2 Corinthians 4:16-18 and 2 Corinthians 5:1. I would like to dedicate these verses to her. (I have changed it a little bit.)

“Therefore Granny, you did not lose heart. Even though your outward woman perished, yet your inward woman was being renewed day by day.  For your light affliction, which was but for a moment, worked for you a far more exceeding and eternal weight of glory, while you did not look at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen. For the things which are seen are temporary, but the things which are not seen are eternal. For we know that when your earthly house, this tent, was destroyed, you have a building from God, a house not made with hands, eternal in the heavens.”

We love you, Ouma!

 

Leave a Reply

