From Knowledge to Believing to Action: Part 7 – Full Circle

This is the last blog of this series, or so I think for now. When the Lord started to talk to me about this topic, I had no idea where He was leading me. This has been a journey for me, a personal encounter with Him on a different level. Where I thought I was going, was not where I ended up.

In Part 5 of this series, we looked at Philippians 3:12-16. In verse 14 (NKJV) it says:

 “I press toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.”

I asked the question: What is this ‘goal for the prize of the upward call of God’ that is referred to in this scripture? And the answer I got: God wants us to live in the plan that He has for our lives, and ultimately to have eternal life. The next question then is:

What is eternal life?

We often think that it is to go to heaven, and yes that is part of it. But here is the good news: We can have eternal life NOW! The answer is in the Word – John 17:3 (NKJV) Jesus is praying to His Father:

 “And this is eternal life, that they may know You, the only true God, and Jesus Christ whom You have sent.”

Wow! Isn’t that amazing?! Eternal life is to KNOW God! Here is what blew my mind as I was writing this down (I knew all these things, but when it was strung together like this – I was in total AWE!):

God wants us to strive/move towards the goal for the prize of the upward calling of God in Jesus Christ ⇒ The goal ⇒Eternal life ⇒ To know God ⇒ To have a personal and intimate relationship with HIM!

How do we get to have this personal and intimate relationship with Him?

Knowledge: How do we get the knowledge?

  • From others i.e. going to church, listening to lectures and sermons, courses, other people. This is the water that we get from the surface, it can help us grow – but it is not as pure, clean and as much as when you would be getting the water from God directly.
  • From God directly –growing our roots deep into God. We can do this by spending time in the Word, spending time with God, talking to Him and listening to Him (be still).

Faith/Believing:

Action/To move:

  • Seeking Him more and more and moving towards Him.
  • More of Him and less of me!

So this brings me to the big revelation of where I ended vs. where I thought I started. At the beginning of this series I thought it was more of a step-by-step thing: You need knowledge so that you can believe/have faith so that you can go over into action/move towards God. Knowledge ⇒ Faith ⇒ Action

BUT now… Now I realise that it is a circle! We gain knowledge of God, this knowledge then triggers faith. When we have faith we want to seek God more, we move towards Him. By moving towards Him, we get to know Him more. The more we know Him, the more we want to know Him. The more we want to know Him, the more knowledge we get of Him and from Him. The more knowledge we have, the stronger our faith grows, the more we seek Him, the more we get to know Him, the more we want to know Him… you get the picture! full-circle-1

This is how I came full circle in this series.

Still this Kari Jobe song is playing over and over in my mind:

“The more I seek you,

The more I find you

The more I find you, the more I love you”

And another song, but I do not know who’s song this is:

“Lord I want to know you more, deep within my soul I want to know you, Lord I want to know you more.”

I would love to know what your thoughts are on this series, so feel free to leave a reply in the comment box below. ♥

Leave a Reply

