A head full of fears has no space for dreams

The other day I received this picture, and it got me thinking…A head full of

There is so much truth in this – a head full of fears has no space for dreams. We can also change it a bit. A mind/heart full of fears has no space for hope, love, faith, God!

Unfortunately fears form such a big part of our lives. Even the way we speak – ‘I’m afraid I will be late’, ‘I’m afraid I cannot do this’. We fear what the future holds for us, for our husbands, children, family, friends. We fear our financial situation – will I be able to make ends meet this month, will I be able to put food on the table, will I be able to get out of my debt, will I ever be able to afford that house or car, will I be able to provide the life and education I want for my children. We fear for our safety. We fear for our relationships. We fear for our jobs. We fear for our social position. We fear for our acceptance in society, from friend and family. We fear the unknown. The list goes on and on…  Sometimes we admit that we have fears, but a lot of the times we are in denial of whatever our fears may be, sometimes we are even consciously unaware of our fears. Whatever your fear(s) may be, we all live with them (some more than others, some bigger than others), giving them a place in our hearts and minds. However big the fear(s) may be, it is taking up our time and energy – time and energy wasted.

 

Why is fear currently a topic for me? I have or almost used to have a very big, very irrational phobia for snakes. It even got to the point where even seeing a snake on the TV made me extremely anxious and terribly fearful. There is a long story that goes with it, but the point is it was irrational and stole my peace, time and space in my heart and mind. A few years ago, I decided to face and overcome my fear, and it worked for a while, but the fear came back. A few weeks ago, I faced my fear again – I handled a rather big (well it was a big snake for me of over a metre long) for almost half an hour or so, until I was calm and the fear had gone away. I will get there, slowly but surely. Knowing that God’s plan for me is not fear! He is helping me through this!

 

The moment we fear something, we give it power over us – it controls us. We become slaves of what we fear. I realised that I let snakes control me, so how can I give God complete control, if I allow something else to control me? Not having control is also something we often fear, and yet the irony of that is that the fear of not having control is in fact controlling us.

 

God says to us in His word that we do not have to fear, do not be afraid! He cares for the lilies in the fields and the birds, how much more does He not care for us.  (Mat 6:25 -34).

 

 

Rom 8:15

“For you did not receive the spirit of bondage again to fear, but you received the Spirit of adoption by whom we cry out, ‘Abba, Father.’ ” (NKJV)

 

“So you have not received a spirit that makes you fearful slaves. Instead, you receive God’s Spirit when He adopted you as his own children. Now we call him, ‘Abba, Father.’ ” (NLT)

 

“For [the Spirit which] you have now received [is] not a spirit of slavery to put you once more in bondage to fear, but you have received the Spirit of adoption [the Spirit producing sonship] in [the bliss of] which we cry, Abba (Father)! Father!” (AMP)

 

A spirit of bondage means a state of being a slave, so God didn’t make us to be slaves to fear or to be controlled by fear. Being a slave means a person who is the legal property of another and is forced to obey them. We have to make a conscious decision to stop obeying our fears and to be the property of our fears. This was never God’s plan for us and this never came from Him, no, He gave us His Spirit (the Holy Spirit) which we have accepted in to our hearts. Where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom. We are free! Free to be His sons and daughters! We have been adopted as God’s children. We have nothing to fear!

 

I think of a song by Bethel – No longer slaves.  There is a part that really stands out to me for the first time today:

 

You split the sea

So I could walk right through it

My fears were drowned in perfect love

You rescued me

And I could stand and sing

I am a child of God…

 

In Exodus 14 when God open the sea for the Israelites to travel through, He protected them. The Israelites were the Egyptians’ slaves, and God wanted to save His people and lead them into the promised land. God changed the hearts of the Egyptians and they went after the Israelites. In verse 10 the Israelites were afraid when they saw the Egyptians coming after them.  They were afraid to leave behind a life that they knew, fearful of dying in the desert.  Moses then stretched out his hand over the sea and God split the sea. The water formed a wall on their right and left and they were able to move through the sea. The Egyptians followed them, and the next morning God instructed Moses to again stretch out his hand and the sea closed on the Egyptians.

 

What a revelation! God took the Israelites through what they thought they will never be able to do – He took them through the sea, unharmed. The Egyptians held the Israelites in slavery and in fear. God freed them from this life, He literally closed the sea on their ‘problems’, fears and slavery.

 

Let’s change the way we think and speak, let’s remove fear from our minds, hearts and words.

 

Trust God – let Him open the sea in front of you and lead you through the sea, leave your fears and worries behind in the sea and let it be washed away, drowned in His love!

 

Let our song be:

I’m no longer a slave to fear

I am a child of God!!!!!!

6 thoughts on “A head full of fears has no space for dreams

  1. Wow, wow, wow!!!

    Dis nogal iets om oor na te dink en dis so waar. Ek love daai liedjie en dit wat jy oor praat sluit so mooi daarby aan. En ek sal kan in sit, ipv slange – spinnekoppe. Ek is baie bang vi daai klein insekte en eintlik is hul kleiner as n mens. Ek het een aand ini bad gesit en was regtig “gevries” en “gevange” gehou deur daai spinnekop, teen di dak, reg bokant my. Dit was n aaklige gevoel. En ek moet se ek maak hul al self dood.

    Baie danki vi dit wat jy met almal gedeel het. Dis briljant.

    Groete

    Liked by 1 person

  2. GREAT, GREAT GREAT!!!! Tyd dat ons nie net moet luister nie, maar luister en regtig hoor!!! En ons vrese laat gaan!!! Nie net tot n volgende keer, vir altyd! Die wêreld het niks aan ons. Hy wat IN ons is, is Groter as die dinge van die wêreld.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

